“my heart, my mind, my body, my soul, me.” — belongs to you.

Saff Khalique
3 min readDec 29, 2020

--

I haven’t really written much new stuff I am ready to share, a lot of it is way too personal to be out there. So, I have taken to the archives of the second collection I wrote, and here are few of my favourites to gift you with at the end of this year.

Each section reflects part of myself, the first is the heart. It the most powerful muscle in our body, it keeps us alive circulating the blood that flows through our veins. But, its most extraordinary function is its ability to feel love, loss and heartbreak through every inch of our body.

Next comes the mind. It is the one thing that holds everything together, the one pulling all of the strings. The mind is what makes a person who they are and it is the one part of the body that we torture the most. These are the ones I have been most reluctant to share since I wrote them two years ago, but as of recently I have become more comfortable with talking about my mental health and it has helped others, so I hope these help some more.

The body. This is something I have a complicated relationship with. We all have one, all beautifully different, yet many of us cannot see this beauty in ourselves. Over the years I made peace with my body at eighteen, then it came crashing down at twenty, slowly began to fall back in love with it at twenty-one and at twenty-two, I lost control over it. As I end this year, I have a new appreciation for it, I still struggle to see it in the way eighteen-year-old me did, but we are getting there.

My soul. Me. That’s what you see in all of these words. A collection of writings from past self, and some of which I see in myself now. I wonder what 2021 brings for me creatively.

--

--

Saff Khalique

why medium? a place to post personal essays discussing mental health, religion, spirituality and body image.